



1685 West Higgins Road, Hoffman Estates, Illinois 60169 heparks.org t (847) 885-7500 f (847) 885-7523

MINUTES ANNUAL BOARD MEETING May 25, 2021

1. Roll Call:

The annual meeting of the Hoffman Estates Park District Board of Commissioners was held on May 25, 2021 at 8:55 p.m. at the Triphahn Center in Hoffman Estates, IL.

Present: Commissioners Chhatwani, Dressler, K. Evans, Friedman, Kaplan,

Kinnane, and McGinn

Absent: None

Also Present: Executive Director Talsma, Executive Assistant Logan

Audience: None

2. Approval of Agenda:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried by voice vote.

3. <u>Comments from the Audience:</u>

None

4. <u>Election of Officers:</u>

A. President:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to open the nominations for President. Motion carried by voice vote.

President Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Friedman to nominate Pat Kinnane for President.

Commissioner Friedman made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to close the nominations for president. The motion carried by voice vote.

President Kaplan asked for the vote to approve Pat Kinnane for president. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Vice President:

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to open the nominations for Vice President. Motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Friedman to nominate Robert Kaplan for Vice President.

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to close the nominations for Vice President. The motion carried by voice vote.

President Kinnane asked for a vote to approve Robert Kaplan for Vice President. The motion carried by voice vote.

5. Appointment of Officers:

A. Treasurer:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Chhatwani as Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Assistant Treasurer:

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Director of Finance & Admin Nicole Hopkins as Assistant Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. Secretary:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner K. Evans to appoint Executive Director Talsma as Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Assistant Secretary:

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner McGinn as Assistant Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

6. Annual Appointments:

A. Attorney:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Ancel Glink as Attorneys for the park district. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. NWSRA Member District Representative:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Executive Director Talsma as NWSRA Member District Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. NWSRA Member District Alternate Representative:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Director of Recreation Kapusinski as NWSRA Member District Alternate Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

7. <u>Committee Appointments:</u>

A. Administration & Finance Committee:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Friedman as Chairman of the Administration & Finance Committee and Commissioner Dressler as the Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Steve Winner, Kathy Musial, Hosep Utas, Mandar Kulkarni and Denise Wilson as Community Representatives to the Administration & Finance Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Buildings & Grounds Committee:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner McGinn as Chairman of the Building & Grounds Committee and Commissioner K. Evans as the Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Ron Evans, Chad Bettencourt, Lauren Sernett, Suzanne Poeschel and Patricio Aguilar as Community Representatives to the Building & Grounds Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. Recreation & Facilities Committee:

Commissioner Friedman made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Commissioner Chhatwani as Chairman of the Recreation & Facilities Committee and Commissioner Kaplan as Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Annual Board Meeting May 25, 2021 – Page 4

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Pearl Henderson, Chris MacGregor, Lizzie Beranek, and Ian Macdonald as Community Representatives to the Recreation & Facilities Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Senior Liaison:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Dressler as the Liaison for the Senior Commission. The motion carried by voice vote.

E. Village Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee Liaison:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner K. Evans as the Liaison for the Village Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

F. Executive Director Review Committee Chairman:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint President Kinnane as Chairman of the Executive Director Review Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

8. Commissioner Comments:

Commissioners McGinn, Dressler, and Chhatwani congratulated all and wished everyone good luck in their new roles.

9. Adjournment:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to adjourn the meeting at 9:08 p.m. The motion carried by voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Craig Talsma Secretary

Monica Logan Executive Assistant