



1685 West Higgins Road, Hoffman Estates, Illinois 60169 **heparks.org t** (847) 885-7500 **f** (847) 885-7523

MINUTES BUILDING AND GROUND COMMITTEE/PARK TOUR June 20, 2017

1. <u>Roll Call:</u>

A regular meeting of the Hoffman Estates Park District Building and Grounds Committee was held on June 20, 2017 at 6:55 p.m. at the Triphahn Center in Hoffman Estates, IL.

Present:	Commissioner K. Evans, Comm Rep Castillo, President Kaplan, Chairman McGinn
Absent:	Comm Rep Bettencourt, Dekirmenjian, Friedman, S. Triphahn
Also Present:	Executive Director Bostrom, Rec/Facilities Director Kies, Director of Parks & Facilities Services Hugen,
Audience:	Commissioner Bickham, R. Evans, Kilbridge, Kinnane, Comm Rep Henderson, Utas, Digital Media Assoc. O'Brien

2. <u>Approval of Agenda:</u>

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Comm Rep Castillo to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried by voice vote.

3. <u>Comments From the Audience:</u>

None

4. <u>New Business:</u>

Executive Director Bostrom and Director Hugen provided a detailed description of the park improvements visited on the park tour and those park sites included in the CAMP for renovation within the next couple of years. An overview on the GIS system was also provided and as well as how it was integrated within the CAMP.

A. <u>Annual Park Tour:</u>

Director Hugen provided 3 options to address the current deficiency within the Eisenhower Track.

Chairman/Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner K. Evans to not proceed with the full replacement of the track at Eisenhower Park included in the 2017 Capital Budget for \$60,000 and to allow staff to contract out the work to patch identified areas of the track requiring work. Motion carried by voice vote.

Discussion was also held regarding the recent vandalism of Field Park. The committee consensus was to agree with staff's recommendation to replace the existing, vandalized fountain with new plantings in the area where the current water fountain in located.

5. <u>Committee Member Comments:</u>

None

6. <u>Adjournment:</u>

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Comm Rep Castillo to adjourn the meeting at 9:22 p.m. The motion carried by voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Dean R. Bostrom Secretary

Peg Kusmierski Recording Secretary