# HOFFMAN ESTATES PARK DISTRICT

1685 West Higgins Road, Hoffman Estates, Illinois 60169 **heparks.org** — **t** 847-885-7500 — **f** 847-885-7523







The mission of the Hoffman Estates Park District is to offer healthy and enjoyable experiences to our residents and guests by providing first class parks, facilities, programs and services in an environmentally and fiscally responsible manner.

# MINUTES ANNUAL BOARD MEETING May 20, 2014

# 1. Roll Call:

An annual meeting of the Hoffman Estates Park District Board of Commissioners was held on May 20, 2014 at 7:55 p.m. at the Triphahn Center in Hoffman Estates, IL.

Present: Commissioners Bickham, R. Evans, Greenberg,

Kilbridge, McGinn, Mohan and President K. Evans

Absent: None

Also Present: Executive Director Bostrom, Deputy Director / A&F

Director Talsma, Parks Director Giacalone, Facilities

/Rec Director Kies

Audience: Comm Reps Kinnane

#### 2. Pledge of Allegiance:

Everyone present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### 3. Agenda:

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried by voice vote.

#### 4. Comments from the Audience:

None

# 5. <u>Election of Officers:</u>

#### A. President:

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to open the nominations. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Greenberg made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Mohan to nominate Commissioner Bickham as President.

Commissioner Greenberg made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to close the nominations. The motion carried by voice vote.

The motion for president carried by voice vote and President Bickham took over the meeting.

#### B. Vice President:

Commissioner Greenberg made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to open the nominations. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Greenberg made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to nominate Commissioner R. Evans as Vice President.

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to close the nominations. The motion carried by voice vote.

The motion for vice president carried by voice vote.

#### 6. Appointment of Officers:

#### A. Treasurer:

Commissioner Greenberg made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint Commissioner Kilbridge as Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

#### B. Assistant Treasurer:

Commissioner Greenberg made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Mohan to appoint Deputy Director Talsma as Assistant Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

#### C. Secretary:

Commissioner Greenberg made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Executive Director Bostrom as Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

#### D. Assistant Secretary:

Commissioner Greenberg made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint Commissioner McGinn as Assistant Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

#### 7. Annual Appointments:

#### A. Attorney:

Commissioner R. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Greenberg to appoint Ancel, Glink, Diamond, Bush, DiCianni, Krafthefer, PC as the District's Attorneys. The motion carried by voice vote.

#### B. NWSRA Member District Rep:

Commissioner Mohan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Greenberg to appoint Executive Director Bostrom as NWSRA Member District Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

# 8. <u>Committee Appointments:</u>

#### A. Administration & Finance:

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Mohan to appoint Commissioner Greenberg Chairman and Commissioner K. Evans Vice Chairman of the A&F Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Mohan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Victor Katis, Theresa Keenan, Kathy Musial, Hosep Utas and Steve Winner as Comm Reps to the A&F Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

#### B. Buildings & Grounds:

Commissioner Greenberg made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint Commissioner K. Evans Chairman and Commissioner Mohan Vice Chairman of the B&G Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Mohan to appoint Raffi Dekirmenjian, Marc Friedman, Sue Triphahn, Patrick Kinnane, and Paul Snyder as Comm Reps to the B&G Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

# C. Recreation Committee:

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Mohan to appoint Commissioner McGinn Chairman and Commissioner R. Evans Vice Chairman of the Rec Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner R. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Hap Wittkamp, Robert Kaplan, Scott Koltz, Susan Neel, Linda Dressler as Comm Reps to the Rec Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

# D. Forward Planning:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Mohan to appoint Commissioner Kilbridge Chairman and Commissioner R. Evans Vice Chairman of the Forward Planning Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner McGovern made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint Hap Wittkamp, Robert Kaplan, Sue Triphahn, Linda Dressler, Pat Kinnane, Steven Winner, Kathy Musial and Sue Neel as Comm Reps to the Forward Planning Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

# 9. Other Committee Appointments:

#### A. Senior Liaison:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Commissioner R. Evans as the Senior Liaison. The motion carried by voice vote.

#### B. Executive Director Review Committee Chairman:

Commissioner Greenberg made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint President Bickham as Executive Director Review Committee Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

### 10. Commissioner Comments:

Commissioner Mohan congratulated the board on a good year noting that there were some excellent choices for Board and Committee positions.

Commissioner McGinn reminded everyone of the Garage Sale.

Annual Meeting May 20, 2014 – Page 5

Commissioner Kilbridge congratulated Commissioner Bickham on his appointment as President.

Commissioner K. Evans noted that he appreciated all the support of the past years and congratulated Commissioner Bickham on his appointment.

Commissioner R. Evans noted that PSSWC's murals looked great, that the 9-Stein did not seem to be very well advertised and congratulated everyone on their new positions.

Commissioner Greenberg congratulated everyone, noting that he was looking forward to a good year.

President Bickham thanked the board for their support and Commissioner K. Evans for his leadership and boardsmanship. He promised to keep an open mind and was looking forward to the completion of the CMP.

# 11. Adjournment:

Commissioner Mohan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to adjourn the meeting at 8:20 p.m. The motion carried by voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Dean R. Bostrom Secretary